• Keep up to date with Ausbb via Twitter and Facebook. Please add us!
  • Join the Ausbb - Australian BodyBuilding forum

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

The Ausbb - Australian BodyBuilding forum is dedicated to no nonsense muscle and strength building. If you need advice that works, you have come to the right place. This forum focuses on building strength and muscle using the basics. You will also find that the Ausbb- Australian Bodybuilding Forum stresses encouragement and respect. Trolls and name calling are not allowed here. No matter what your personal goals are, you will be given effective advice that produces results.

Please consider registering. It takes 30 seconds, and will allow you to get the most out of the forum.

Power rack suitability

meanster

Hi guys,

My first post; so hoping someone can help or advise. I'm a complete noob to power racks.

Have been researching the forum for the last few nights (information overload!). I've been looking at buying a (non-commercial) rack, bench, oly bar & dumbells and as much weight as I can afford for around $1500. Have looked at the following racks and the various packages from the usual suspects (gymdirect, gym&fitness, littlebloke fitness, cyberfit, samsfitness et al):

MMPR
Powertech
Force USA
Cyberfit LC2

However, before I start getting into the pros/cons of these too much I really need to know whether any of these racks are suitable for my circumstances.

1) The room I have to set up my gym is only 234cm (W) x 330cm (L) x 240cm (H). I'm not sure these dimensions would allow me to work with a rack, whichever way around I put it (one way would be too narrow for changing plates/moving bar and the other way around would be too short for removing safeties?). Can anyone confirm whether any of these racks (or similar) would work in a room this size?