• Keep up to date with Ausbb via Twitter and Facebook. Please add us!
  • Join the Ausbb - Australian BodyBuilding forum

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

The Ausbb - Australian BodyBuilding forum is dedicated to no nonsense muscle and strength building. If you need advice that works, you have come to the right place. This forum focuses on building strength and muscle using the basics. You will also find that the Ausbb- Australian Bodybuilding Forum stresses encouragement and respect. Trolls and name calling are not allowed here. No matter what your personal goals are, you will be given effective advice that produces results.

Please consider registering. It takes 30 seconds, and will allow you to get the most out of the forum.

Newbie needs some Advice

AP1974

Hello Mates
My name is Alan,I am a newbie to this board & to bodybuilding.

I eat a chicken breast & pasta for lunch.Half an hour after my meal is eaten all I want to do is sleep.This sleepy feeling stays with me well until the arvo when I train & it is killing my workouts.I am too tired to lift.
I know the pasta is high in GI & that’s what’s causing the crash.I tried cutting back the amount of past I eat but that’s not helping,I am crashing really bad after lunch.Is there any way to counteract the crash? Would eating vegetables with my meal prevent a crash?
What if I swapped the past with rice? Would rice make me crash as well?

Also,I suffer from IBS so protein shakes are out of the question & I cannot eat eggs either. I eat oats(carbs) for breakfast but am finding it hard to find a source of protein to go along with the oats.I was wondering if drinking a glass of soy milk on its own was an adequate source of protein to go along with my oats? I know all protein isn’t created equal but I guess soy milk is better than nothing.

Thanks for reading & I’d appreciate any feedback
Cheers.