• Keep up to date with Ausbb via Twitter and Facebook. Please add us!
  • Join the Ausbb - Australian BodyBuilding forum

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

The Ausbb - Australian BodyBuilding forum is dedicated to no nonsense muscle and strength building. If you need advice that works, you have come to the right place. This forum focuses on building strength and muscle using the basics. You will also find that the Ausbb- Australian Bodybuilding Forum stresses encouragement and respect. Trolls and name calling are not allowed here. No matter what your personal goals are, you will be given effective advice that produces results.

Please consider registering. It takes 30 seconds, and will allow you to get the most out of the forum.

The mental side to lifting

harry1970

Elegantly Wasted
Just though I'd share something that happened to me today...

My normal routine (as I am still a novice) is to squat, bench, military then deadlift in that order. Until I reach my basic strength goals I will continue to lift this way 3 times a week. I'll fuck around with splitting shit up once I get stronger.

Anyway, today in my lifting program I got to the deads after about 60 minutes, and I have to admit I was pretty shagged. I've been fighting off a cold and the weights felt heavy, my form was crap and everything felt hard.

Now I've felt this way before and over the last few months I've experienced my fair share of "good days" where weights just bounced back and felt light and "heavy days" when I felt I was pushing twice the weight.

I had a bit of a strange experience on my last set of deads. It was only 117.5kg (way off my 1RM) but as I stood at the bar I just told myself I couldn't lift it. Being a stubborn nit I did it anyway, but I have been in a shit of a mood all day thinking about it.

I guess what I'm asking is how do you more experienced guys handle the mental side of lifting?