• Keep up to date with Ausbb via Twitter and Facebook. Please add us!
  • Join the Ausbb - Australian BodyBuilding forum

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

The Ausbb - Australian BodyBuilding forum is dedicated to no nonsense muscle and strength building. If you need advice that works, you have come to the right place. This forum focuses on building strength and muscle using the basics. You will also find that the Ausbb- Australian Bodybuilding Forum stresses encouragement and respect. Trolls and name calling are not allowed here. No matter what your personal goals are, you will be given effective advice that produces results.

Please consider registering. It takes 30 seconds, and will allow you to get the most out of the forum.

Psychology Research

plloyd88

Hi there,

I am a psychology student at the Glasgow Caledonian University, Scotland, and as part of my thesis I am working on a study that explores the extent to which cases of muscle dysmorphia are increasing within western society. In particular the research focuses on the predictive association between bullying and muscle dysmorphia. Muscle dysmorphia can be described as a pathological obsession with the drive for a bulking, muscular and lean body where the individual may compromise social interaction, work commitments and physical health to obtain an "ideal" physique. Relatively few studies have been completed on muscle dysmorphia and this is offset by recent reports detailing how men are increasingly seeking professional psychological help for body image disorders, in particular muscularity. By reviewing empirical evidence it may assumed that lowered self-esteem affected by bullying may be a contributing factor to muscle dysmorphia. Hopefully, research in this field will help establish future potential risk factors of muscle dysmorphia. Potential participants are required to be male, aged between 18-65 and exercise at least three time