• Keep up to date with Ausbb via Twitter and Facebook. Please add us!
  • Join the Ausbb - Australian BodyBuilding forum

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

The Ausbb - Australian BodyBuilding forum is dedicated to no nonsense muscle and strength building. If you need advice that works, you have come to the right place. This forum focuses on building strength and muscle using the basics. You will also find that the Ausbb- Australian Bodybuilding Forum stresses encouragement and respect. Trolls and name calling are not allowed here. No matter what your personal goals are, you will be given effective advice that produces results.

Please consider registering. It takes 30 seconds, and will allow you to get the most out of the forum.

How long of a session should i be having?

megaphoenix

I'm an absolute beginner in nearly every sense of the word (I have hardly any upper arm muscles at all) and i am planning to start working out with free weights soon. I know that i'm going to start with the smallest i have and keep working my way up from that to heavier free weights.

My question is, what is a good estimate of how long a weight lifting session should be? I know it may be better to focus on the amount of reps that i am doing, but i figure that they both may be a similar answer.

Do you think 20 minutes is a good starting point? or is 40 minutes more preferable? I assume anything more is too much for a beginner. I do feel that it would indeed be better to aim for the amount of reps, but i'm not sure what the average time would be (eg: 100 reps might be 10 minutes or 20 minutes, im not sure).

i have another two very quick questions:
1) aslong as i start my day with high energy foods, does it matter when i train (eg: closer to morning or last thing before night)?