• Keep up to date with Ausbb via Twitter and Facebook. Please add us!
  • Join the Ausbb - Australian BodyBuilding forum

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

The Ausbb - Australian BodyBuilding forum is dedicated to no nonsense muscle and strength building. If you need advice that works, you have come to the right place. This forum focuses on building strength and muscle using the basics. You will also find that the Ausbb- Australian Bodybuilding Forum stresses encouragement and respect. Trolls and name calling are not allowed here. No matter what your personal goals are, you will be given effective advice that produces results.

Please consider registering. It takes 30 seconds, and will allow you to get the most out of the forum.

Bodybuilding and excessive food intakes

Oli

I've been lifting for 10 months now. In that time ive put on 20kg (75-95) and I think my lifts are decent enough that I can give my 10c.

Something that strikes me is the excessive amounts of food proposed in the bodybuilding world - Rippetoe has his 4L of whole milk a day and if your food intake is anything below 7000 calories someone on bb.com is bound to call you a pussy. The 'eat big' slogan seems to be everywhere.

Now dont get me wrong, I can see a lot of guys this would apply to - my high school was full of skinny kids who ran around all day and ate nothing but space food sticks. I imagine this is exactly the sort of thing they need.

However, I think you're average male, particularly once into their 20s, is going to blow up sumo style on this kind of diet. In my impatience for muscle gain I followed this kind of advice in periods, but nowhere near the extent they suggested. there were times Id either drink 3L of lite milk, eat a 1kg of meat or go to mcdonalds for big macs 2-3 times a week (never did these simultaneously) and whilst I did make some 'great gains' they were never lean ones.