• Keep up to date with Ausbb via Twitter and Facebook. Please add us!
  • Join the Ausbb - Australian BodyBuilding forum

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

The Ausbb - Australian BodyBuilding forum is dedicated to no nonsense muscle and strength building. If you need advice that works, you have come to the right place. This forum focuses on building strength and muscle using the basics. You will also find that the Ausbb- Australian Bodybuilding Forum stresses encouragement and respect. Trolls and name calling are not allowed here. No matter what your personal goals are, you will be given effective advice that produces results.

Please consider registering. It takes 30 seconds, and will allow you to get the most out of the forum.

blacking out

i nearly blacked out during my set of leg extensions, but went straight to the leg press and was ok.

Got me thinking about it.

from the time i started lifting weights i wondered bicep exercises were more exhausting than tricep...why chin-ups more exhausting than dips, i thought chin-ups involved more peripheral work than dips.

i think thats wrong, seeing that the bodys circulatory system is sort of like a closed hydrolic system, the raising of the systems pressure as a whole is not really an issue, the blacking-out, or the elevated blood pressure is caused by the gripping exercises, often you see someone deadlift only to black-out momentarily.

I think you must somehow relieve blood pressure by momentarily realesing grip to restore circulation to the brain.

I come close after squats sometimes. Never on deadlift, very occasionally on standing press.
For me I think it's probably more to do with breathing/oxygen deficit though.

I don't know Andy, these past 3 weeks I've been close to blacking out after the Leg Press

haha

I started blacking out on the leg extension and realised i was gripping the handles, really tight.