• Keep up to date with Ausbb via Twitter and Facebook. Please add us!
  • Join the Ausbb - Australian BodyBuilding forum

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

The Ausbb - Australian BodyBuilding forum is dedicated to no nonsense muscle and strength building. If you need advice that works, you have come to the right place. This forum focuses on building strength and muscle using the basics. You will also find that the Ausbb- Australian Bodybuilding Forum stresses encouragement and respect. Trolls and name calling are not allowed here. No matter what your personal goals are, you will be given effective advice that produces results.

Please consider registering. It takes 30 seconds, and will allow you to get the most out of the forum.

safety squat bar?

syp

Hi Guys,

I am new to squatting in a rack. Have been using a leverage system.

I have found I do not have the flexibility in my arms to get comfortable with a bar to do the squats. Is this a normal thing for starters? I am noit very flexible in general and have lower back problems from work.

I saw a safety squat bar but cannot find much info about them. Are they just a gimmick? Or could it be something that would be an advantage to someone like me?

Here is a link Force USA Olympic Safety Squat Barbell - Only $249

thanks

No its not typical for beginners but not unheard of to have crap shoulder flexibility. Safety squat bars and cambered squat bars will be great for you of course our can't compete using them. Great for when our otherwise can't squat.

And do lots of stretching.

I can't comment on that specific bar though.

I couldnt hold a bar when I started properly squatting. But I went to the root cause of the problem of mobility and spent $30 on bands which fixed the problem, instead of throwing on a bandaid solution and buying a bar that would bypass the problem.