• Keep up to date with Ausbb via Twitter and Facebook. Please add us!
  • Join the Ausbb - Australian BodyBuilding forum

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

The Ausbb - Australian BodyBuilding forum is dedicated to no nonsense muscle and strength building. If you need advice that works, you have come to the right place. This forum focuses on building strength and muscle using the basics. You will also find that the Ausbb- Australian Bodybuilding Forum stresses encouragement and respect. Trolls and name calling are not allowed here. No matter what your personal goals are, you will be given effective advice that produces results.

Please consider registering. It takes 30 seconds, and will allow you to get the most out of the forum.

5x5 VS 6x6 Bench Press Routine?

R

rafaelo4

Hello folks,:)

I been wondering for a while now if I am doing this right.Namely this is the routine I have been using for several months now and I had good gains.

Pick a weight u think u can do 7 reps with on absolute failure.Then do 5 sets with that weight,push 5 reps each set,no more no less....if u get 5x5 then next week add 2kg (1kg to each side).if u get 5x5 again the next week add 2kg again to the bar, and so on and so forth....until u cannot do 5x5 and u do like 5,5,5,4,3 then u stay with that weight till u achieve 5x5 and then u begin adding again.....

I have been doing this on Mondays (flat bench press) and Fridays (except I do db incline) on Wednesdays I do 6x10 DB Fly's.

Now I have been reading on bodybuilding forums that some people have been advocating 6x6 as better than 5x5, some even go with 6x5.

Also I rest 2 min between reps on my 5x5 days while on Wednesdays about 30->1 min between reps.

What is everyone thinking?And do you think this routine is good?

Hello folks,:)