• Keep up to date with Ausbb via Twitter and Facebook. Please add us!
  • Join the Ausbb - Australian BodyBuilding forum

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

The Ausbb - Australian BodyBuilding forum is dedicated to no nonsense muscle and strength building. If you need advice that works, you have come to the right place. This forum focuses on building strength and muscle using the basics. You will also find that the Ausbb- Australian Bodybuilding Forum stresses encouragement and respect. Trolls and name calling are not allowed here. No matter what your personal goals are, you will be given effective advice that produces results.

Please consider registering. It takes 30 seconds, and will allow you to get the most out of the forum.

Time for change or patience?

BonVoyage

Hello ladies,
I've been working out for 4 years now. I began after the freshman 15 (more like 25 in my case :mad:) really got on my nerves and I decided to improve my health. I was 64kg, with a bodyfat of around 30%.
Over the next 1,5 years, I lost the weight that I had gained. Now I'm 49kg, 155cm tall. Tape measurement (Navy bodyfat calculator) gave me a 21% bodyfat. I know it's not 100% accurate, just to give you an idea.
The thing is: I'd really love to see my abs. At least the upper ones would be awesome. However, I think I'm already pretty slim, and I don't want to end up really skinny and bony - that's not the look I'm going for.
To achieve that goal - do you think I should bulk up first, try to add as much muscle as I can, and then lean out again? Or should I go on a slow, mild cut to reduce my bf? Cuz, at 21% bf, no one can expect to see their abs, right?
I changed my workout only recently from bodyweight exercises only to a mixture of weights and bwe. I do:
squats with dumbbells (soon with a barbell)
one-legged hip raise
reverse bodyweight row
push-ups
hanging leg raise
side v-up
lateral raise
biceps curls