• Keep up to date with Ausbb via Twitter and Facebook. Please add us!
  • Join the Ausbb - Australian BodyBuilding forum

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

The Ausbb - Australian BodyBuilding forum is dedicated to no nonsense muscle and strength building. If you need advice that works, you have come to the right place. This forum focuses on building strength and muscle using the basics. You will also find that the Ausbb- Australian Bodybuilding Forum stresses encouragement and respect. Trolls and name calling are not allowed here. No matter what your personal goals are, you will be given effective advice that produces results.

Please consider registering. It takes 30 seconds, and will allow you to get the most out of the forum.

MMPR Power rack

thanks

for a total beginner in weight lifting, what weight plate setup would you recommend? I can choose any combination that adds up to 80kg.

I am thinking more light weights and less heavy plates?

Tuna, I love you.

Undelicious, Id go
1.25 x 2
2.5kg x 2
5kg x 2
10kg x 2
20kg x 8

That would be enough to get you started, and if you wnet with the MM gear, the start of a quality home gym.

What if we added dumbell handles to the mix?

I love tuna too.. lol .. Even better I love catching tuna.

I am also wondering what weight plate configuration people would recommend for a beginner.

The above config that you wrote Sticky, was for nearly 200kg of plates. It makes perfect sense, seeing that it has a pair of all the increment plates to make up to the next set of 20's to throw on. For Undelicious' question, I am guessing he would just get less 20kg plates to make his 80kg limit? I am not sure..