• Keep up to date with Ausbb via Twitter and Facebook. Please add us!
  • Join the Ausbb - Australian BodyBuilding forum

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

The Ausbb - Australian BodyBuilding forum is dedicated to no nonsense muscle and strength building. If you need advice that works, you have come to the right place. This forum focuses on building strength and muscle using the basics. You will also find that the Ausbb- Australian Bodybuilding Forum stresses encouragement and respect. Trolls and name calling are not allowed here. No matter what your personal goals are, you will be given effective advice that produces results.

Please consider registering. It takes 30 seconds, and will allow you to get the most out of the forum.

General advice needed

Jonno1982

Hi All

I am very new to weight training and only really starting to get into it now. I wanted to get some advice on how to go about doing things the right way to get better definition and build strength.

So I only recently joined a gym about 4 months ago. I have been going up to 5 times a week doing weights/cardio on alternate days. I am 179cm tall and currently weight 85gks. I have lost 9.5kgs so far and want to loose a little more before I start bulking up with a more concentrated weight routine as now i do a total body session every second day.

What I am wanting to know is what in your opinion would be a good target weight before I start bulking up? I was looking at a weight around the 82kg mark, would this be ideal? Another thing, i want to start taking a post work out drink and have read here that Bioflex is a good choice, would I only start these once I reach that goal weight?

I know its pretty vague details but as i say, i don't know much about training but am willing to take on board any advice giving!

Thanks
See ya
Jonno

Last edited:
If your goal is to bulk up, don't bother trying to slim down first.