• Keep up to date with Ausbb via Twitter and Facebook. Please add us!
  • Join the Ausbb - Australian BodyBuilding forum

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

The Ausbb - Australian BodyBuilding forum is dedicated to no nonsense muscle and strength building. If you need advice that works, you have come to the right place. This forum focuses on building strength and muscle using the basics. You will also find that the Ausbb- Australian Bodybuilding Forum stresses encouragement and respect. Trolls and name calling are not allowed here. No matter what your personal goals are, you will be given effective advice that produces results.

Please consider registering. It takes 30 seconds, and will allow you to get the most out of the forum.

loss of speed?

B

badzie

hey guys, ive been doing a program similar to rippetoes for about 3 or 4 months. i play aussie rules footy and pre season i was fit and pretty fast, i have foty training twice a week, since ive been lifting weights solidly (3x a week) a feel like ive gotten slower and less fit and my legs are generally sore everyday. could getting slower be related to lifting heavy weights or another reason?

Sore everyday is the thing that stands out most to me. How are you sore?

If you are doing starting strength then you should be getting more powerful, as you are training two days a week for footy (sprinting hopefully) you should be getting faster.

Starting Strength is a brutal program meant to make noobs stronger - it was never intended to work in conjunction with sport, more of an off season cycle. You're fatigued, thats pretty normal of a football player who doesnt eat enough.

My suggestions would be to run Rippetoes how most rugby players traditionally train (x2 a week with weights and x2 a week training and competition). Eg:

Sunday: Rest
Monday: Workout A
Tuesday: Rest
Wednesday: Football training
Thursday: Workout B
Friday: Rest