• Keep up to date with Ausbb via Twitter and Facebook. Please add us!
  • Join the Ausbb - Australian BodyBuilding forum

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

The Ausbb - Australian BodyBuilding forum is dedicated to no nonsense muscle and strength building. If you need advice that works, you have come to the right place. This forum focuses on building strength and muscle using the basics. You will also find that the Ausbb- Australian Bodybuilding Forum stresses encouragement and respect. Trolls and name calling are not allowed here. No matter what your personal goals are, you will be given effective advice that produces results.

Please consider registering. It takes 30 seconds, and will allow you to get the most out of the forum.

Help me set SMART strength goals for this year

Dancelot

Background: I started lifting at the start of last year, but only did squat and bench press (with the usual curls & crappy machine stuff) along with cardio until May. Then I did a program from Iron Addicts with Squat Day, Bench Press Day and Deadlift Day for 2 months. For various reasons, I stopped training for 3 months. Started again in late October, after reading Starting Strength, Stronglifts and the first 100 newsletters from PTC, plus was instructed briefly by a powerlifter at my gym.

At the end of last year, my stats were:

86kg BW, 20-ish BF%, 171cm.

Lifts all done raw - the only assistance gear I use is liquid chalk.

Deadlift: 140kg x1
Squat: 110kg x5
Bench press: 65kg x3
OHP: 35kg x4
No powerclean in 2009: I've only done powercleans for 3 sessions this year.

Since Jan, I've been adding a few things to my training, plus 2 cardio days. My week currently is like this:

Monday: 40 mins indoor soccer

Tuesday:

20-rep squat
Powercleans
Standing MP / Push press
Speed Bench Press
Dead-hang Chin-ups / Wide-grip Pull-ups

Wednesday:

Tabata Thrusters
Burpees
DB Swings
One-armed plank

Thursday:

Bench press